Back to Philosophy

9 Jun

This place is about philosophy.  Anything pettily personal or pointlessly dramatic doesn’t belong here.  I was never interested in that.  Sometimes a bit of it came to me, and sometimes I was just being a nub.  It’s bad news either way.

On the evolving  internet, such unrestrained flight of consciousness material as I sometimes wrote here no longer flies.  Especially if people are actually reading, and I liked to pretend that no one was.  I enjoy a sort of total honesty which is bound to be misinterpreted if not qualified.

I believe in truth and dignity.  I don’t believe in purist ideological solutions to complex problems, but certain authors on this or that extreme certainly can contribute interesting tidbits.  I also believe in trying to see the total situation as opposed to just ideally abstracted bits, and this is something I find is easily misinterpreted.  One could say it is a kind of ‘organic’ perspective as contrasted with ‘fixed’ perspectives.  This has already been explored in various ways by the likes of Stirner, Whitehead, Hayek, and many other luminaries.  I will spell it out from now on.  This ‘total situation’ view could easily be mistaken for relativism or unscientific thinking.

Most people have a heart, a conscience, and they already know what to do.  Serious philosophy is only for a few people, and one must have sympathy for those people.  Even people who are good at it usually don’t take it nearly as far as it will eventually go, because total philosophy leads to crazy places which the human mind probably isn’t built for.  One of the most interesting things I’ve learned from philosophy is that much of life is really an artistic initiative which does not have full ratiocinative justification.  So injecting philosophy into everything will lead to life-wilting interference with that very initiative.

From now on I will be more explicit about my beliefs versus the moments when I’m simply wearing a hat.

The truth is that I am ecstatic just to be healthy today, and even happier with a most improbable rebound of my cognition.  By the end of college, I expected to either die or live a pathetic and chronically miserable life.  If I could have peered into the future and seen myself healthy and wonderfully mentally assertive, I would have cried and known that it was worth it.

After the hellacious period, I took a few years to gather myself.  To recompose.

I don’t apologize for it; it was the right thing for me.  I was able to develop myself mentally as should have happened in my late teenage years, and I adjusted back to my healthy functioning state, which is completely different from being an undiagnosed celiac sufferer with a litany of mysterious and nasty symptoms.  In my worst days I think I became quite bitter about a relative lack of sympathy for my situation, but suffering makes clear that everyone deserves love and a full life.  The path there is not always so simple, but hopefully things will get there in the long run.  However, my mind and heart soar past that to the core of life itself in its relation to the Universe and perhaps beyond.  It sounds like a flight of fancy, but I believe such fields of curiosity will sprout in time.

Naysayers to such high imaginings are small people who I eagerly ignore.

What I learned in the slog of bad times is that one can super-compensate at any time.  Don’t wait for a prompt or a crisis!  Ask the extra question now, think the extra thought now, go the extra mile now!  Take the initiative.  Assert as though life has maximum value.  Set the bar high, and then move it higher.  This attitude has done me a hell of a lot of good.  Create the virtuous challenge.

The world is a complicated place, but I believe in people like:  Warren Buffett, Bill Gates, Terence Tao, Sal Khan, Saul Kripke, and so on.  At least for the things they do the best.  Their bread and butter.  The Santa Fe Institute is one of my favorite online resources, and it’s relevant to my favorite topics there.  What’s more, I feel that many musicians are tapping implicit intuitions which are philosophical in nature.  It happens in a lot of the classical guys like Beethoven, Debussy, Brahms.  Tony MacAlpine has commented rather deeply on what he’s trying to achieve in his music.  The philosophical sophistication of some of the top musicians is striking.

I hope that one day everyone will life a whole, dignified, and lushly meaningful existence.  The path there will probably have some amazing twists, but I believe it can happen.

Terence Tao has a wonderful blog, and his Google+ links to some of the more accessible material.  He’s not afraid to get philosophical.  Additionally, he has a couple great talks on youtube.

Generally speaking, these sources will be vastly superior to most of what I write here.  If the internet has a winner-take-all format, then you might as well go for the best.

I do believe life in the Universe is related to an as-yet poorly defined Sacred structure, and I further believe that some forms of liberty will be found as irreducible within said structure.  However, this liberty is probably very different from what most Libertarians or ‘free market’ people are up on.  The issue with free market idealism is that it has difficulty handling incentives for players to manipulate governments, information, and even human beings themselves.  There is no magical coop which will keep everyone in check per the idealism.  Asymmetries will arise.  They already have.  

Practically speaking, I think it’s a great message to find the Sacred aspects in life and to build the rest around em’.  That’s an idea which took me awhile to come to, but historically it was more the norm.

The future of the planet will probably be great, but asking a few extra questions won’t hurt!  I don’t believe in unrestrained optimism or unrestrained pessimism, but I think there is always a faith in the human journey no matter how intelligent or informed or anal one gets about it.  There is always a faith, because no one knows everything, and we’re all these weird creatures to begin with.  To be or not to be — an unavoidable choice.  That’s why I think serious philosophy ought to be quarantined.  It is by its nature a faith-seeking antagonist.  Even more so than science — at least when real philosophers are involved.  But I believe in the enduring worth of philosophy.  It’s function just happens to be exotic and difficult for non-philosophers to understand.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

